Attention! If the conversation involves some difficult events and you see that the child is in a serious psychological condition, despite all your efforts to help, seek assistance from psychologists or psychotherapists who specialize in trauma.

Scenarios: The Key - Traumatic Experience

What to Do When a Child Avoids Co-Creating a Story

(Option 1)

Accept everything the child says.
Result: Maximum satisfaction for the child and maximum effort for the parents.

The child saysParents say
Regarding the idea
“I don’t know”
The child says nothing
The child thought… “I don’t know what to do.” He sat down and thought again. His mind was blank. There wasn’t a single thought.
But I want to have some idea, who could help me?
Regarding the hero’s name
“I don’t know”
“You tell me”
The hero’s name was I D O N T K N O W Y O U T E L L M E. A strange name.
Create a story about how he got this name.
Description of the hero
“I don’t know”
“I don’t want to talk”
“I don’t care”
The hero was neither big nor small.
He always didn’t care and never wanted to say anything.
And that was his trait. Sometimes it was good, and sometimes it was bad.
And then one day…
What sounds did he hear?
The child is silent
“I don’t know”
Then he heard, or maybe he didn’t hear anything.
He didn’t know what he heard.
Maybe someone needed help?
The child becomes irritated, frustrated
or says, “I don’t want to do this anymore”
The hero suddenly felt some irritation and thought to himself:
“I don’t want to do this anymore.” Then he decided that he had done enough for today and needed to find another activity or game.
And that was the end of the story.

(Option 2)

Ask again, but only once! Many children perceive repeated questions as intrusive, leading to irritation or reluctance—a defensive reaction. Perhaps, on that particular day, the child is too tired to focus. To maintain the playful and relaxed atmosphere of the game, it’s better for you to finish the story on your own.

(Option 3)

Continue the story yourself. Many children need more time, encouragement, and support before they dare to join in on storytelling. You can take a break and pause your interaction for a while. However, it’s essential to gauge the length of this pause (not too short and not too long).

(Option 4)

Offer the child different options to choose from. This can make storytelling easier or spark a discussion, allowing the child to decide if they want to continue the story.

8 September 2024